Devotional for Week of October 27th, 2014

Proverbs 27:12 — The prudent see danger and take refuge, but the simple keep going and pay the penalty.

 Oh to have been prudent all of my life.  I wish I could say that I’ve never been simple as this verse describes, but many times I have.  I’ve known there were troubles before me and still continued on the path.  I’ve even known the consequences that awaited me, but sought no refuge.  Some might call that being a risk-taker or a dare-devil, but when you know there are definite negative consequences, but continue on you are being simple.

Years ago I was in a tough financial situation.  I’ve since learned that what I was in was nothing compared to the troubles my wife and I have faced over the last few years, but at the time it was a tough situation.  I saw that I was low on money and that little would be coming in, but I put my desires first and continued to spend.  I even went beyond what I had and borrowed from friends and family—just so I could live the life I wanted to live.  I knew I was going to be broke, but I wanted to enjoy myself on the way there.

But then the bottom fell out and I had no money left to spend.  I had change my diet, change my habits, and actually be honest with those around me.  Those were consequences I wasn’t ready to face, but I knew they were there when I started spending.

Since then my wife and I have faced some tough times, and I used to get the urge to keep spending in those times.  But we realize now that if we trust in each other, trust that God will provide, and follow sound financial principles we will find a way out of the financial struggles.  We’ve learned to take refuge rather than continuing down the path of the simple.

We know now that our overall goals are more important than our immediate desires.  We know that giving our first fruits to God helps align us with our goals.  And we know that together we can wait out the danger in order to find a clearer path.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for providing for me and my family in times of need.  Thank you for giving me the reminders to avoid danger rather than jump headfirst into it.  Please help me spot danger from a great distance, Lord, so that I can take refuge  and wait.

Leave a Reply

