Devotional for Week of October 6th, 2014

2 Corinthians 10:11 — Such people should realize that what we are in our letters when we are absent, we will be in our actions when we are present.

When I read this verse last week I could feel it drive into my heart.  Paul makes the point that people should have no doubt about how we will act, because our words and our actions should always be in line.  He makes it seem so simple and plain, as if nobody has ever acted in a way that didn’t align with their words.  But for most of us it’s not that simple.

We each need to strive each day to keep our actions and our words in line with one another.  And to do this we need to first set our heart in the right direction, because our mouth and body will follow the path our heart chooses.  We need to be sure that our passions and our desires are in line with God’s plan to ensure that our hearts, words, and actions stay in line as well.

Often parents find themselves telling their children to “do as I say, not as I do”, but this idea can cause great problems for the children and for the parent-child relationship.  We all need consistency in our lives to allow for peace and balance, but our children need this more than any other.  If we don’t properly model for our children the appropriate actions, then we are simply asking for trouble.  We need to adjust our paths to set our children on the straight path we likely desire for them.

This verse especially struck me as a writer, because my words are often read by people who either see me rarely or never at all.  I want to be sure that what I write here and in other venues isn’t a lie.  I need to be sure that my actions and words are equally following the path that God has laid on my heart.

This isn’t something that just comes overnight.  No, this is something that takes dedicated time and practice.  This takes humility and honesty.  Paul made the idea seem simple, but for most of us it isn’t.  Yet putting forth the effort is definitely worth the end result.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for designing me as you have.  I appreciate all of the care you have directed in my life, and I ask now that you help me align with the design you have for me.  Help set me on the path I’m called to, so that I can better keep myself in alignment.  Lord, I want to glorify you through my words and my actions each day, so please help me see where I fall short.

Leave a Reply

