Devotional for Week of August 18, 2014

Colossians 3:23-24 — Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

Wow, I needed this reminder today. When life keeps piling on and holes keep getting bigger it’s easy to feel underappreciated, undervalued, and insignificant. I’m in what I’d call a rough patch right now and for the last week my constant struggle with purpose has picked up steam. It’s been tough for me to face each day not knowing whether I was going to face yet another roadblock. It’s actually gotten to the point where I expect something to try to bring me down, so I try to plan for that.

This verse reminds me that I’m not here to please my boss, my neighbors, or the world around me. I’m here to please Him. And if I truly strive to please God I will no doubt be pleasing to the world around me.

Yesterday I was reflecting on the fact that I go hard at most things I work on — to the point that my body is ailing more than a 30-year-old body should. I’ve been going hard to simply get it done or make someone else happy. Colossians 3:23-24 reminds me to first thank God for making me able to do the work before me and then keep God in mind as I do the work. If God is not at the forefront of my thoughts I will likely face more feelings of doubt and hopelessness.

I’ve realized that I don’t turn to God enough. I need more time in His word and more time in conversation with Him. I get up early for work, so I’ve made the excuse that I can’t start my day with God because I wouldn’t get enough sleep. I need to find another time of day to consistently get with God or I need to get to bed earlier so that I can get up earlier without trouble. I need to focus on God, because if I don’t this rough patch will surely grow.

Prayer: Lord, thank you for the gifts and abilities you have given me. Though I may not always see them I know they are from you. Please help me to trust in what you’ve given me, and work with me to discern the great work you have in store for me.

Leave a Reply

