Devotional: Week of August 11, 2014

Ephesians 4:31-32 — “Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice.  Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as Christ God forgave you.”

I’ve done a verse very near to this already (Ephesians 4:29), but I feel that right now I need another time to reflect and remember the biblical approach to forgiveness.

We all have moments when we feel that we’ve been wronged.  The key thing to remember, when we feel this way, is that we must forgive.  If God can forgive me for all that I’ve done wrong; if He can forgive mankind for all of our sins, then who am I to withhold forgiveness?

It’s much easier to get angry or bitter and speak ill to others.  But why take the easy way?  I didn’t set out to be a passive man who only takes the road well-traveled.  I am here to make a difference, and the right difference won’t be made through bitterness, anger, or slander.  I want to do my part to lead people to Christ.  I want to help people.

If I can be a better example and I can lead more people to Christ rather than away from him, then I will count this life as successful.  To do this I need to keep this verse in mind.  I know that bitterness, anger, and slander have all come from me in the past, so today I will begin making a concerted effort to change my ways.  When I feel those feelings coming, or when I sense a trigger situation, I will recall this verse and pray.

Prayer:  Lord, I thank you for your forgiveness.  I have done nothing to deserve such grace and mercy from you, but still you have given it to me.  Please help me see the path to forgiveness when I feel wronged.  Dim the lights that cover the path to bitterness, anger, and slander.  Help me see the right choice.

Leave a Reply

