Devotional: Week of July 28, 2014

Psalm 56:3 – When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.

Do I truly trust God or do I simply not trust myself? I often find myself saying that “God will provide” or “God will get us through this”, but I’m not sure how much of that is actually trusting God to control the situation. I think I may simply be saying “I see no way I can do this, so hopefully God can take care of it.”

That’s not the right way to handle life. Before I even try to take a situation on I need to turn to God. He has infinite power and infinite ability. Why wouldn’t I want that in my corner? Why wouldn’t I ask Him to help me or at least show me the way? We aren’t meant to get through our struggles alone. We need to lean on God and even let Him carry us if that’s what we need.

I won’t be able to simply flip a switch and fully put my trust in God, but I am willing to walk the path that leads to total trust.  If I can make my way down a path that allows me to be more comfortable with the life that is happening around me, then I will take the steps that need to be taken to find my way to that path.  I need to step away from doing things on my own and remember that I first must turn to the God who created me.

Prayer: God, thank you for always being willing to help me. Thank you for giving me the chance to learn through my mistakes and failures. Please help me remember to turn to you first and not as a last-ditch effort. Thank you lord for being my saviour.

Leave a Reply

