Devotional: Week of July 14, 2014

1 Peter 1: 14-16 – As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance.  But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written, “Be holy, because I am holy.”

As Christians we have been called to be like Christ.  I know that I will never be able to equal Christ’s goodness or holiness, but I also know that isn’t the call.  We are supposed to strive to be like Christ not to be Christ.  There is only one Jesus, so we need to be careful that we aren’t trying to be him but instead be like him.

It would be easy to get discouraged about being a dim light when we compare ourselves to Christ, but instead of being discouraged we need to seek out ways to brighten our light and help it reach farther.  We are here to love God and love others as ourselves, so each day we need to set out on a venture to reach those goals.

There are definitely days that I don’t reach both goals.  I am at a point in my life where I definitely love God and I generally even like Him too.  I had gone through some points where the love was running low and other points where there was love for Him, but it was hard to like Him.  Those valleys may return in my life, but at this point I love God and I enjoy His presence each day.

The other goal has been a little harder to reach each day.  There are days where I just don’t feel like loving anyone (even myself), but on those days I need to force myself to remember the call laid upon me.  Other days it may seem overwhelming to love others as ourselves, but then I remind myself that I am just a man seeking to be like Christ.  If I can’t love everyone today, I can still love someone, and then tomorrow I can continue to grow toward being like Christ by loving more and more until there is not a person on this earth—past or present—that I do not love.

I have my opinions of how I act, how I handle situations, and how I need to improve.  But it would be really cool to sit back and watch myself.  If I could set up a Candid Camera-style reality show where I didn’t know when I was being watched I could get an honest assessment of how I interact with the world.  Then I could see if I am loving on others in the way that I think I am.  I could even review the tapes periodically to make sure that I am growing in the right direction.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for welcoming me into your home.  You know who I was, but more importantly you know who I can be.  Please help me be the person you see in me, and please help me show Jesus to the world through who I am.

 

Leave a Reply

