Devotional: Week of June 16, 2014

Matthew 21:18 – Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done.  If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

Faith is a tough concept to get your hands on, because there is nothing tangible to put your hands on.  Jesus explains that if we have true faith, without doubt, all things are possible for us.  We can force a fig tree to wither and die or even command a mountain to jump into the sea.  What amazing power!

If we fully trust in the Lord who we cannot see and faithfully follow His commands, then we, too, can call upon that power.

I remember, as a child, hearing that belief was the key to achieving anything.  I bought into it then, but as I got older the words seemed emptier.  I believed I could be whatever I wanted to be when I grew up, which for me was a bit impractical.

Many kids grow up wanting to be a doctor, an athlete, a police officer, or president.  I, on the other hand, wanted to be a superhero.  It was crazy and irrational to want that, but I wanted to help others and occasionally “save the day”.  As years went by I realized it wasn’t going to happen the way I wanted it to, and so I moved on to new hopes for my future.

However, over the last few years as my faith in God has been strengthened I’ve come to realize that I can still be the superhero I dreamed to be.  It’s all a matter of perspective.  God knows my heart, and knows that I truly desire to serve others and “save the day” when I can.  I now realize that in my own way I can be a superhero.

I can protect my children and my wife, I can give blood to save lives, I can share God’s story with others, and I can do so many other seemingly small things.  God has responded to my desire to be a superhero by giving me a purpose that allows me to serve and possibly even save others.  I needed to open my eyes to see that what I wanted was already around me, and it was time for me to step to into it.

Prayer:  Lord, thank you for taking the time to know my heart.  I know that if I call out to you with my heart and eyes open you will provide for me.  You know my true desires from my cravings, and you will guide me toward my desires.  Thank you for giving me this path, Lord.

Leave a Reply

