Devotional: June 9, 2014

Psalm 16:11 – “You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”

There are so many things in the world that it’s easy to get lost in what you want rather than what you need.  People often confuse desire with needs, because of the way our society is set up.  If you spend your time thinking about how you must have that new car, then you’re losing focus on God.  If you must have that car you’ll be living to work and make money, so that you can fill that desire.  However, if you recognize that these desires are not necessities then, and only then, can you start to see true purpose in your life.

Many walk around asking, “Why am I here?” and try to answer on their own.  They fill that void with working and buying and repetitively asking that same question.  I’ve found myself in this position at various times in my life.  I’ve struggled to accept the cards dealt, because they weren’t what I wanted.  But once I realized it was better to accept God’s plan and wait for His reveal, that’s when I felt a release.  That’s when I began to find enjoyment in a job I had previously begun to detest.  I started seeing a purpose I had overlooked.  I saw that even though I wasn’t where I thought I wanted to be I was still in a position to serve a purpose for God.

You are here for a purpose and though you may not know what it is yet, God does.  He will show you in His time.  God has made you as you are, so to constantly seek out an answer to “Why am I here?” is like questioning God.  He has a purpose for you, and He will make it clear to you in His time.  In the meantime you can search for what you enjoy, serve others, and praise the one who created both you and your purpose.

Prayer:  Dear Lord, I thank you for placing me on this path.  I know that you have placed me here; whether it is clear to me why I am here or not.  I ask that you continue to show me ways to fulfill the purpose you have for me where I am today.

Leave a Reply

